Canary Islands


Canary Islands


The Canary Islands currency is the Euro which is the official currency of EU member states (including Spain). The first Euro coins and notes were introduced in January 2002; the Spanish Peseta was still in circulation until 28 February 2002 thereafter it was no longer legal tender.

Euro (€) = 100 cents. Notes are in denominations of €500, 200, 100, 50, 20, 10 and 5. Coins are in denominations of €2 and 1, and 50, 20, 10, 5, 2 and 1 cents.

currency converter

Credit Cards :-
MasterCard, American Express, Diners Club and Visa are widely accepted, as well as Eurocheque cards. Check with your credit, or debit, card company for details of merchant acceptability and other facilities which may be available.

Tipping is a matter of personal choice. If you are satisfied with the service, leave some small change - 5% is usually plenty, 10% if you are feeling very generous!